The 1950 FIFA World Cup in Brazil: A Historic Tournament (2023)


The 1950 FIFA World Cup held in Brazil stands as a pivotal moment in the history of football, marking the first tournament since 1938 due to the disruptions caused by World War II. In this comprehensive overview, we delve into the background, format, participating teams, cities and arenas, tournament highlights, statistics, and the unexpected turn of events that made this World Cup unforgettable.


The aftermath of World War II significantly influenced the roster of participating teams. Germany and Japan were banned, and political reasons led to the absence of the Soviet Union, Hungary, and Czechoslovakia. Argentina withdrew during the qualification stage, and France and India withdrew for unrelated reasons, resulting in an asymmetrical group structure with 13 teams.


The tournament revived the group play format from 1930 due to economic considerations. The 1950 World Cup comprised two phases of group play, with four group winners advancing to a final group stage.

Cities and Arenas

Matches were spread across six Brazilian cities, each hosting games in distinct stadiums. The Maracana Stadium, boasting a capacity close to 200,000, was a testament to Brazil's commitment to hosting a spectacular event.

Tournament Highlights

The absence of France in Group 4 streamlined Uruguay's path to the knockout stage with a resounding 8-0 victory over Bolivia. Brazil, a football powerhouse, faced scrutiny from its supporters after a drawn match against Switzerland. However, the team rallied in the second group phase, dominating with impressive victories.

The final match between Brazil and Uruguay at the Maracana Stadium on July 16, 1950, witnessed an unexpected turn of events. Despite only needing a draw to secure victory, Brazil succumbed to Uruguay, marking a turning point in Brazilian football history.

England's Debut

This World Cup also saw England's debut, a significant moment considering the historical dominance of British football. However, England's journey was short-lived, with one win and two losses leading to elimination before the final round.


The FIFA World Cup 1950 featured 22 matches, yielding 88 goals at an average of 4 goals per match. Notably, no player received a red card during the tournament.


Brazil, Spain, Sweden, and Uruguay emerged as group winners, progressing to a second round. The crucial match between Uruguay and Brazil determined the tournament's outcome, with Uruguay securing victory and claiming their second title in two participations.

Uruguay's Winning Squad

The championship-winning squad of Uruguay included notable players such as Roque Máspoli, Obdulio Varela, Alcides Ghiggia, and Oscar Míguez, with Juan López Fontana serving as the head coach.


The 1950 FIFA World Cup in Brazil remains etched in football history as a tournament of unexpected twists and historic significance. From the diverse participating teams to the format changes and the unforgettable final match, every aspect of this World Cup contributed to its unique legacy. As we reflect on the triumphs and challenges of the 1950 World Cup, it stands as a testament to the enduring spirit of football on the global stage.


Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Carlyn Walter

Last Updated: 09/10/2023

Views: 6144

Rating: 5 / 5 (50 voted)

Reviews: 81% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Carlyn Walter

Birthday: 1996-01-03

Address: Suite 452 40815 Denyse Extensions, Sengermouth, OR 42374

Phone: +8501809515404

Job: Manufacturing Technician

Hobby: Table tennis, Archery, Vacation, Metal detecting, Yo-yoing, Crocheting, Creative writing

Introduction: My name is Carlyn Walter, I am a lively, glamorous, healthy, clean, powerful, calm, combative person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.